Words vs. Actions ~ Prayer

We all know the truth in the saying, “Actions speak louder than words,” but I think whether we realize it or not, many of us have more of a “Do what I say, not what I do” mentality.
Isn’t it amazing how we say we believe something, but in reality, our lives reflect a different belief?

For example, you may say, “I enjoy homemade meals the best,” and yet don’t take the time to cook, and eat out all the time instead.
Or, “I love my husband/wife/children,” and yet never spend any time with them cultivating that relationship that is supposed to mean so much to you.
Your words contradict your actions.

What about prayer?
If anyone asked us if we believe in the power of prayer, most of us would respond with no hesitation that we fully believe that prayer makes a difference.
But do our lives reflect that belief, or are our words contradicted by our actions?
Do we spend time every day in prayer, desiring that God get glory and interceeding for situations in our lives and the lives of others?

I must admit that I’ve found myself guilty of saying one thing and doing another.
I truly do believe that prayer is a means of grace given to us by God.
God’s Word instructs us to pray.
In fact, Jesus Himself taught His disciples (and us!) how to pray in Matthew 6.
Yet, do we pray?
Do I pray?

I know that God can work miracles when and if He chooses to do so.
I have seen people buckle down in prayer over a situation or a loved one, and God heard these cries and chose to work a miracle.
I’ve seen Him answer prayers in my own life….and so have you.
It has happened time and time and time again.
Yet, do we pray?
Do I pray?

If a member of our church family asks us to pray about something very dear to their heart that has no direct link to us, do we remember to pray?
Can people trust us with their heaviest and most precious burdens?
What about our own burdens?
You know, those things in our own lives that we would love to see God change or work a miracle….
Do we pray?
Do I pray?

Listen friends, I know life is hard and stressful and busy.
I know there never seems to be enough hours in the day.
I also know that in the midst of the stress and busyness, prayer is often one of the first things to go.

It’s easy to say, “I’m praying for you,” and never take the time to really intercede on their behalf.
It’s easy to say, “God, I know You’re the only One who can help me,” and never spend time begging Him to do just that.

There is so much more to prayer than just saying a few words.
There is so much more required than just a mental ascent to the fact that prayer is essential to see a miracle.
It takes time.
It takes effort.
It takes dedication.
It takes not only believing God can, but begging Him and trusting that He will.

Just because the results are taking longer to see than you may like doesn’t mean God isn’t hearing.
Don’t give up.
Don’t quit praying.
Someone is counting on you.
God is taking notice of your cries.
Time spent in prayer matters.

“Whether we like it or not, asking is the rule of the Kingdom. If you may have everything by asking in His Name, and nothing without asking, I beg you to see how absolutely vital prayer is.
True prayer is measured by weight, not by length. A single groan before God may have more fullness of prayer in it than a fine oration of great length.
Remember, Christ’s scholars must study upon their knees.”
~C.H. Spurgeon

Let our actions confirm our words, not contradict them.
Let’s not neglect our prayer lives.
Take time to spend with the Lord.
Is He not worth it?
In the end, the relationship with Him is the one that matters most.

Leave a Reply

