He Heard Me

Last night, a verse of Scripture caught my attention and almost took my breath.
It wasn’t even in what my husband was preaching, but was a verse in the previous chapter.

It was one of those verses I’ve read many times, but last night it was as though I was seeing it for the first time.

“In my distress I cried unto the Lord, and he heard me.” ~Psalms 120:1

That’s it.
So simple, yet so profound.

David didn’t say he cried unto the Lord, and He was immediately removed from the distress.
He didn’t even say that God gave him a date and time when the distress would be over.
That wasn’t important.

All David needed to know was that God had heard him.

In this instance, that was enough.

There’s another Psalm where David cried unto the Lord, and He moved heaven and earth to come to his aid because that was what he needed right then.

This time wasn’t like that.
All he needed at this moment was the assurance that he had been heard.
He knew God would deliver him in His time and His way.

When I saw this verse last night, it was as if I were saying it instead of David.

The Lord reminded me that He’s fully aware of my situation.
I’ve cried to Him over and over and over….and He’s heard me.

He isn’t ignoring me or dismissing my distress.
He knows what’s going on, and He will deliver in His time and His way.

For now, all I need to know is that the Lord has heard me.

There’s peace and comfort in that simple, profound statement.

For now, that’s enough.

Whoever you may be, whatever you may be facing, please remember this: if you belong to Jesus, He has heard your cries.

You aren’t ignored and you haven’t been forgotten.
Rest assured, the Lord has it all under control.

He has heard, and that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

